Scientific and Statistical Committee

Each regional management council has a Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC) responsible for reviewing the scientific basis of council management plans and actions and developing fishing level recommendations in accordance with national fisheries management guidelines. SSC members also play a key role in developing stock assessments for Council managed resources through participation in SEDAR, the Southeast Data, Assessment, and Review program.

The SSC is made up of economists, biologists, sociologists and natural resource attorneys who are knowledgeable about the technical aspects of fisheries in the South Atlantic.

The SSC also has a Socio-Economic Panel (SEP) made up of social scientists and economists who advise the Council of the social and economic impacts of fishery management measures.

The South Atlantic Council's SSC meets twice a year to address a broad range of topics, including stock assessments, management action evaluations, social and economic analyses, habitat evaluations, and ecosystem management issues.

SSC Meeting Information

SSC Peer Review Process

SSC Member Job Description


Council staff contacts:


Dr. Mike Errigo, Fishery Biologist
South Atlantic Fishery Management
Council
4055 Faber Place Drive, Suite 201
N. Charleston, SC 29405
843-571-4366
mike.errigo@safmc.net


SSC Members (updated 10/2016):


Dr. Marcel Reichert, Chair
SC DNR-Marine Resources Division
P.O. Box 12559 (217 Ft. Johnson
Road, Charleston SC 29412)
Charleston, SC 29422-2559
843-953-5778 phone
ReichertM@dnr.sc.gov

Dr. George Sedberry, Vice-Chair
NOAA, Gray's Reef National Marine
Sanctuary
10 Ocean Science Circle
Savannah, GA 31411
912-598-2345 phone
george.sedberry@noaa.gov

Dr. Robert Ahrens
University of Florida
135 Newins-Ziegler Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-273-3630 phone
rahrens@ufl.edu

Dr. Luiz Barbieri, Chair
FL Fish & Wildlife
Conservation Commission-FMRI
100 Eighth Avenue SE
St. Petersburg, FL 33701-5095
727-896-8626 ext. 4116 phone
luiz.barbieri@myfwc.com

Dr. Carolyn Belcher
GA Department of Natural Resources
Coastal Resources Division
One Conservation Way, Suite 300
Brunswick, GA 31520
912-264-7218 phone; 912-262-3143
carolyn_belcher@dnr.state.ga.us

Dr. John Boreman, Jr.
23 Covington Lane
Durham, NC 27712
919-768-7198 phone
John.Boreman@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Buckel
Department of Zoology Center for Marine Science and Technology
North Carolina State University
303 College Circle
Morehead City, NC 28557
252-222-6341phone; 252-222-6311fax
jeffrey_buckel@ncsu.edu

Dr. Scott Crosson
NMFS
75 Virginia Beach Drive
Miami, FL 33149
305-361-4468 phone
scott.crosson@noaa.gov

Dr. Churchill Grimes
211 Moriah Creek Road
Crawfordville, FL
831-713-6543 phone
churchill.grimes@gmail.com

Dr. Eric Johnson
Dept. of Biology
University of North Florida
1 UNF Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32224
904-620-5764 phone
eric.johnson@unf.edu

Anne Lange
1493 Diamond Blvd
Mt Pleasant, SC 29466
843-971-0628 phone
AMLange@aol.com

Dr. Sherry L. Larkin
Food & Resource Economics Dept.
P.O. Box 110240
University of Florida
Gainsville, FL 32611-0240
352-392-1845 Ext. 431 phone
SLarkin@ufl.edu

Laura Lee
NC Division of Marine Fisheries
3441 Arendell Street
Morehead City, NC 28557
252-808-8094 phone
laura.lee@ncdenr.gov

Dr. Genny Nesslage
Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
P.O. Box 38/146 Williams Street
Solomons, MD 20688-0038
410-326-7223 phone
nesslage@umces.edu

Dr. Amy Schueller
NOAA Fisheries SEFSC,
NOAA Beaufort Laboratory
101 Pivers Island Road
Beaufort, NC 28516
252-838-0815 phone
amy.schueller@noaa.gov

Dr. Fred Serchuk
Casa Bonita 1, Unit 704
26000 Hickory Boulevard
Bonita Springs, FL 34134
774-392-4975 phone
fred.serchuk@gmail.com

Dr. Alexei Sharov
Maryland Department of Natural
Resources
508 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-260-8288 phone
ASHAROV@dnr.state.md.us

Dr. Tracy Yandle
Dept of Environmental Studies
Mathematics and Science Center
Emory University
400 Dowman Dr.
Atlanta, GA  30322
404-727-4216 phone
404-727-4448 fax
tyandle@emory.edu


Socio-Economic Panel


Dr. Scott Crosson, Chair
NMFS SEFSC
75 Virginia Beach Drive
Miami, FL 33149
305-361-4468 phone
Scott.Crosson@noaa.gov

Dr. Ben Blount
Socio & Ecological Informatics
Mathematics and Science Center
13239 Spring Run
Helotes, TX  78023
210-627-3265 phone
ben.blount23@gmail.com

Dr. Christopher Dumas
Dept. of Economics and Finance
UNC Wilmington
601 South College Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28403
910-962-4026 phone
910-962-7464 fax
dumasc@uncw.edu

Dr. Sherry L. Larkin
Food & Resource Economics Dept.
P.O. Box 110240
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611-0240
352-392-1845 Ext. 431
352-392-3646 fax
SLarkin@ufl.edu

Dr. Jason Murray
NOAA Office of Response and Restoration
1305 East-West HWY
Silver Spring, MD  20910
803-777-4932 phone
jason.murray@noaa.gov

Dr. Kurt Schnier
Dept. of Economics
University of California, Merced
School of Social Sciences, Humanites and Arts
5200 North Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
404-413-0159 ph
kschnier@ucmerced.edu

Dr. Jennifer Sweeney Tookes
Georgia Southern University
P.O. Box 8051
Statesboro, GA 30460-8051
912-478-6587 phone
jtookes@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Jim Waters
700 Hedrick Boulevard
Morehead City, NC  28557
252-726-6227 phone
jwaters8@gmail.com

Dr. John C. Whitehead
3094 Raley Hall, Dept. of Economics
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2051
828-262-6121 phone
828-262-6105 fax
whiteheadjc@appstate.edu

Dr. Tracy Yandle
Dept of Environmental Studies
Mathematics and Science Center
Emory University
400 Dowman Dr.
Atlanta, GA  30322
404-727-4216 phone
404-727-4448 fax
tyandle@emory.edu