SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405 TEL 843/571-4366 FAX 843/769-4520 Toll Free: 1-866-SAFMC-10 E-mail: safmc@safmc.net Web site: <u>www.safmc.net</u>

Ben Hartig, Chairman Dr. Michelle Duval, Vice-Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

AGENDA

Deepwater Shrimp Advisory Panel

Crowne Plaza Hotel 4381 Tanger Outlet Boulevard North Charleston, SC

Tuesday, May 6th, 1:00 p.m. – Wednesday, May 7th, 12:00 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Mike Merrifield
- 2. Approval of May 2013 Deepwater Shrimp AP Minutes Mike Merrifield Attachment 1
- 3. Status and Review of Shrimp Biological Opinion Jennifer Lee, SERO Protected Resources
- 4. Status of Coral Amendment 8 Council staff Attachment 2
- 5. Information on Research Options Available for Industry for Characterizing Fishery Impacts in northern extension of Oculina Bank HAPC - Council staff *Attachment 3*
- 6. Oculina Evaluation Team 2014 Work Attachments 4A-F
 - Background Review of Management Actions for Oculina Experimental Closed Area Council Staff *Attachment 4A*
 - Review of Evaluation Team Deliverables Council staff Attachment 4E
 - Review of Oculina Evaluation Team's report and recommendations Council staff *Attachment 4F*
 - AP input and recommendations Mike Merrifield
- 7. Other Items
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Adjourn

Attachments

- 1. Minutes from the May 2013 Deepwater Shrimp AP Meeting
- 2. Final Coral Amendment 8/EA
- 3. South Atlantic Cooperative Research Opportunities
- 4. Oculina Evaluation Team work
 - A. Oculina Experimental Closed Area_Management Review (ppt)_March 2014
 - B. Oculina Experimental Closed Area_Outreach Update (ppt)_March 2014
 - C. Oculina Experimental Closed Area_Research Update (ppt)_March 2014
 - D. Oculina Experimental Closed Area_Enforcement Update (ppt)_March 2014
 - E. Oculina Evaluation Plan Deliverables
 - F. Oculina Evaluation Team Report & Recommendations_April 2014 *Research Team report will be emailed prior to meeting

Deepwater Shrimp AP Members:

Mike Merrifield (Chair) Steven Wilson (Vice-Chair) Fred Dennis Warren Gautier Nancy Jones Richard Reid Marilyn Solorzano Laurilee Thompson John Williams Brent Zirlott