SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

David M. Cupka, Chairman Ben Hartig, Vice Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

<u>AGENDA</u>

Ecosystem-Based Management Committee

Holiday Inn Brownstone Hotel 1707 Hillsborough Street Raleigh, NC

Monday, December 5th, 2011 – 4:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Duane Harris
- 2. Approval of September 13th, 2011 Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Minutes Duane Harris
- 3. Status of Catches versus Quota for Octocorals NMFS SEFSC
- 4. Status of Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 2 (CE-BA 2)
 - A. Review of Public Comments on Proposed Rule (Attachments 1&2) NMFS SERO
 - B. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Duane Harris
- 5. Update on Invasive Species Research and Programs
 - A. Update on lionfish research James Morris, NOAA NOS
 - B. Update on U.S. FWS programs addressing coastal and marine invasives Jeffrey Herod, U.S. FWS
 - C. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Duane Harris
- 6. Report from the Coral Advisory Panel Meeting
 - A. Overview (Attachment 3) Anna Martin
 - B. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Duane Harris

- 7. Report from the Habitat Advisory Panel and Eco-Regional Coordination Meeting
 - A. Overview Roger Pugliese
 - B. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Duane Harris
- 8. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 3 (CE-BA 3)
 - A. Review of Measures for Consideration in CE-BA 3 (Attachment 4) Anna Martin
 - B. Approval for Public Scoping Duane Harris
 - C. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Duane Harris
- 9. Other Business Duane Harris
- 10. Timing & Task Motion Duane Harris
- 11. Adjourn Duane Harris

Attachments

- 1. CE-BA 2 Notice of Availability
- 2. CE-BA 2 Proposed Rule Public Comment Fishery Bulletin
- 3. Coral Advisory Panel Meeting (October 25-26, 2011) Report
- 4. CE-BA 3 List of Measures for Consideration

Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Members:

Duane Harris, Chair Doug Haymans, Vice-Chair Roy Crabtree Wilson Laney Tom Burgess Mac Currin David Cupka Jessica McCawley/William Teehan Ben Hartig Charlie Phillips Robert Boyles Tom Swatzel Michelle Duval John Jolley

Date:	11/17/2011
Fishery:	CEBA2, CEBA3, Coral,
-	<u>Habitat</u>
Subject:	Briefing materials
Staff:	Martin/Pugliese
Source:	SAFMC