### SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



#### 4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

Duane Harris, Chairman David M. Cupka, Vice Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

## **AGENDA**

# **Ecosystem-Based Management Committee**

Charleston Marriott Hotel 170 Lockwood Boulevard Charleston, SC

### Tuesday, September 14 – 8:30 A.M. to 10:30 A.M.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Brian Cheuvront
- 2. Approval of June 2010 Ecosystem-Based Management Council Session Brian Cheuvront
- 3. SSC Report (*Attachment 1*) Dr. Carolyn Belcher
- 4. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 2 (CE-BA 2)
  - A. Overview of CE-BA 2 actions and alternatives (*Attachment 2*) Myra Brouwer
  - B. FL FWC position on repeal or delegation of federal management plans (*Attachment 3*) Myra Brouwer
  - C. Committee discussion and guidance to staff Brian Cheuvront (ACTION)
- 5. Comprehensive ACL Amendment Sargassum
  - A. Committee discussion and guidance to staff Brian Cheuvront (ACTION)
- 6. Invasive Species
  - A. Habitat and Coral Advisory Panels' input on draft policies (*Attachments 4 & 5*) Myra Brouwer
  - B. Committee discussion and approval Brian Cheuvront (ACTION)
- 7. Update on Ecosystem Activities
  - A. Ocean Observing Systems, South Atlantic Alliance, South Atlantic Landscape Conservation Cooperative, SEAMAP and Ecosystem Tool Development Roger Pugliese
- 8. Other Business Brian Cheuvront

- 9. Timing & Task Motion Brian Cheuvront
- 10. Adjourn Brian Cheuvront

### **Attachments**

- 1. SSC Report
- 2. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 2 Actions and Alternatives
- 3. Florida FWC position letter on the repeal or delegation of federal management plans
- 4. Policies for the Protection of South Atlantic Estuarine Ecosystems from Non-Native and Invasive Species (DRAFT)
- 5. Policies for the Protection of South Atlantic Marine Ecosystems from Non-Native and Invasive Species (DRAFT)

DATE: 8/16/2010

FISHERY: CEBA2, Coral, Habitat
SUBJECT: Briefing Materials
STAFF Brouwer/Pugliese

SOURCE: <u>SAFMC</u>

### **Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Members:**

Brian Cheuvront, Chair

Doug Haymans, Vice-Chair

Roy Crabtree

Mark Robson

Wilson Laney

George Geiger

David Cupka

Tom Burgess

Mac Currin

Mark Robson

George Geiger

Ben Hartig

Charlie Phillips