## SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



#### 4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

Duane Harris, Chairman David M. Cupka, Vice Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

# **Revised AGENDA**

# **Ecosystem-Based Management Committee**

Sheraton Atlantic Beach Oceanfront Hotel 2717 W. Fort Macon Road Atlantic Beach, NC

### <u>Tuesday, December 8 - 8:30 A.M. to 11:00 A.M.</u>

- 1. Approval of Agenda Brian Cheuvront
- 2. Approval of September 2009 Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Minutes Brian Cheuvront
- 3. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 2 (CE-BA 2)
  - A. Overview of changes to CE-BA 2 Options Paper since September 2009 (Attachments 1& 2) Myra Brouwer
  - B. Presentation on Florida's Marine Life regulations (*Attachment 3*) Mark Robson
  - C. FWC position on harvest of orange cup coral (Attachment 4) Myra Brouwer
  - D. Recommendations on actions and alternatives from the Scientific and Statistical Committee Myra Brouwer
  - E. Committee Discussion and guidance to staff Brian Cheuvront (ACTION)
- 4. Updates
  - A. Surveillance and Enforcement of Remote Maritime Areas (SERMA) Workshop Myra Brouwer
  - B. Deepwater coral teacher workshop Myra Brouwer
  - C. Research cruise to proposed Cape Lookout CHAPC Myra Brouwer
  - D. Coral Reef Conservation Program FY2010 proposal Myra Brouwer
  - E. Ecosystem Coordination Activities Roger Pugliese
- 5. Other Business Brian Cheuvront
- 6. Timing & Task Motion Brian Cheuvront
- 7. Adjourn Brian Cheuvront

# **Attachments**

Attachment 1. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 2 Options Paper

Attachment 2. Octocorals as EFH

Attachment 3. Florida Marine Life Rule 68B-42

Attachment 4. FWC position on harvest of orange cup coral

DATE: <u>11/30/2009</u>

FISHERY: CEBA2, Coral, Habitat

SUBJECT:Briefing MaterialsSTAFFBrouwer/Pugliese

SOURCE: <u>SAFMC</u>

## **Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Members:**

Brian Cheuvront, Chair
Spud Woodward, Vice-Chair
Roy Crabtree
Mark Robson
Wilson Laney
George Geiger
David Cupka
Rita Merritt
Mac Currin
Mark Robson
George Geiger
Ben Hartig

Charlie Phillips