SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

Duane Harris, Chairman David M. Cupka, Vice Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

AGENDA Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Hutchinson Island Marriott

555 NE Ocean Boulevard, Stuart, FL

Wednesday, June 10, 2009 - 10:30 A.M. to 12:00 NOON

- 1. Approval of Agenda Brian Cheuvront
- 2. Approval of March 2009 Joint Ecosystem-Based Management and Habitat & Environmental Protection Committees Minutes Brian Cheuvront
- 3. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 1 (CE-BA 1)
 - A. Summary of NEPA and NOAA GC comments (Attachments 1-2) Myra Brouwer
 - B. Overview of changes to CE-BA 1document (Attachments 3-4) Myra Brouwer
 - C. Overview of proposed rule for CE-BA 1 (Attachment 5) Myra Brouwer/Monica Smit-Brunello
 - D. Committee Discussion and Recommended Revisions Brian Cheuvront
- 4. Comprehensive Ecosystem-Based Amendment 2 (CE-BA 2)
 - A. Presentation of Options Paper (Attachment 6) Myra Brouwer
 - B. Committee Discussion and Recommendation on Actions and Alternatives for Analysis Brian Cheuvront
- 5. Governor's South Atlantic Alliance (Attachment 7)
 - A. Presentation on Status Ginny Fay, NMFS, NOAA
 - B. Committee Discussion and Action as Necessary Brian Cheuvront
- 6. Other Business Brian Cheuvront
- 7. Adjourn Brian Cheuvront

Attachments

- Attachment 1. NEPA SERO staff comments on CE-BA 1
- Attachment 2. NOAA GC comments on CE-BA 1
- Attachment 3. Changes to CE-BA 1 since March 2009
- CE-BA 1 Attachment 4.
- Proposed Rule Attachment 5.
- Options Paper for CE-BA 2 Attachment 6.
- South Atlantic Governor's Alliance Presentation (2nd Briefing Book) Ecosystem Coordination Summary (2nd Briefing Book) Attachment 7.
- Attachment 8.

DATE:	<u>5/16/2009</u>
FISHERY:	<u>CEA</u>
SUBJECT:	Briefing Materials
STAFF	Brouwer/Pugliese
SOURCE:	<u>SAFMC</u>

Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Members:

Brian Cheuvront, Chair	George Geiger
Susan Shipman, Vice-Chair	Tony Iarocci
Roy Crabtree	Wilson Laney
David Cupka	Rita Merritt
Mac Currin	Mark Robson