## SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



### 4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

David M. Cupka, Chairman Ben Hartig, Vice Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

## **AGENDA**

# Joint Ecosystem-Based Management & Habitat and Environmental Protection Committees

Hilton Wilmington Riverside 301 N. Water Street Wilmington, NC

## Monday, December 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2012 – 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Doug Haymans / Tom Burgess
- 2. Approval of September 10<sup>th</sup>, 2012 Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Minutes Doug Haymans
- 3. Approval of September 16<sup>th</sup>, 2008 Joint Ecosystem-Habitat and Environmental Protection Committee Minutes Tom Burgess
- 4. Status of Catches versus Quota for Octocorals (Attachment 1) NMFS SERO; FWC
- 5. Report from the October 18<sup>th</sup>, 2012 Joint Coral & Deepwater Shrimp Advisory Panel Meeting (*Attachment 2*) Steve Blair / Mike Merrifield
- 6. Report from the November 14-15<sup>th</sup>, 2012 Habitat Advisory Panel Meeting (*Attachment 3*) Roger Pugliese
- 7. Coral Amendment 7 (*Attachments 4-5*)
  - A. Review of Actions & Alternatives Anna Martin
  - B. Committee Discussion, Guidance to Staff, and Approval for Public Hearings (or adjustments to timing) Doug Haymans/Tom Burgess
- 8. Ecosystem Activities
  - A. Update Roger Pugliese
  - B. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Doug Haymans/Tom Burgess

- 9. Other Business Doug Haymans/Tom Burgess
- 10. Adjourn Doug Haymans/Tom Burgess

## **Attachments:**

Attachment 1. Status of Catches versus Quota for Octocorals (2<sup>nd</sup> Briefing Book) Attachment 2. Joint Coral and Deepwater Shrimp Advisory Panel Meeting Report

Attachment 3. Habitat Advisory Panel Meeting Report (2<sup>nd</sup> Briefing Book)
Attachment 4. Options Paper\_Coral Amendment 7 (2<sup>nd</sup> Briefing Book)

Attachment 5. Coral Amendment 7/EA

## **Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Members:**

Doug Haymans, Chair Roy Crabtree
Michelle Duval, Vice-Chair David Cupka
Robert Beal Ben Hartig
Anna Beckwith Wilson Laney

Tom Burgess Jessica McCawley/Martha Bademan

Roy Crabtree Charlie Phillips David Cupka Tom Swatzel

#### **Habitat and Environmental Protection Committee Members:**

Tom Burgess, Chair Wilson Laney Jessica McCawley/Martha Bademan Charlie Phillips Robert Beal

Date: <u>11/13/2012</u>

Fishery: Coral Amendment 7,

Coral, Habitat

Subject: <u>Briefing materials</u> Staff: <u>Martin/Pugliese</u>

Source: SAFMC