## <u>FINAL</u> SUMMARY REPORT SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL Full Council Session I (Closed Session) December 4, 2023

#### Legal Briefing

Monica Smit-Brunello, NOAA General Counsel, provided the Council will a legal brief relative to recent litigation affecting federal fisheries management.

## **Review of Applications and Recommendations for Appointment**

The Council reviewed applications for advertised seats on the Dolphin Wahoo Management Strategy Evaluation (MSE) Stakeholder Workgroup, the Private Angler Reporting and Education Ad-Hoc Advisory Panel (AP), Citizen Science Program Advisory Groups, and open seats on various advisory panels. The Council provided recommendations for new appointments and reappointments.

The Council reviewed the Habitat and Ecosystem Advisory Panel structure approved during the September 2023 Council meeting and provided recommendations for appointments and reappointments to the AP.

The Council reviewed applicants to the Council's Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC) and the SSC Socio-Economic Panel and provided recommendations for appointments.

The following motions are presented as recommendations for the Council's approval:

## **DOLPHIN MANAGEMENT STRATEGY EVALUATION (MSE) WORKGROUP**

## MOTION: APPOINT THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS TO THE DOLPHIN MSE WORKGROUP:

## OTHER VESTED STAKEHOLDERS ALANA HARRISON, DAVID WAMER, GREGORY JACKOSI, AND SCOTT TRAVERS.

<u>NORTHERN REGION</u> MARK DECABIA, CHRISTOPHER JOBES, AND ANTHONY DILERNIA.

<u>NORTHERN NORTH CAROLINA</u> CHESTER CONKLIN, ROM WHITAKER, ERNEST DOSHIER, JAMES BYRD, AND DEWEY HEMILRIGHT.

<u>SOUTHERN NORTH CAROLINA TO CENTRAL FLORIDA</u> CHIP BERRY, PETER LOY, ARNOLD BRUNELL, TAYLANA STERNS.

## SOUTH FLORIDA AND THE FLORIDA KEYS JONATHON REYNOLDS, JORDAN SCHLEIDER, AND TRIP AUKEMAN.

APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## PRIVATE ANGLER REPORTING AD-HOC AP

**MOTION:** APPOINT TRIP AUKEMAN, MARTHA GUYAS, DARRIN WILLINGHAM, CLEMENT CULLENS, AUSTIN DOHRN, LOGAN BARNES, DANIEL LESCHORN, BRENDAN RUNDE, BRADLEY SCHENK, AND JOHN COOPER TO THE PRIVATE ANGLER REPORTING AD-HOC AP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## CITIZEN SCIENCE

**MOTION:** APPOINT SCOTT BAKER, WALTER BUBLEY, ROB CHESHIRE, RICK DEVICTOR STEPHEN DONALSON, MICHELLE DUVAL, BRYAN FLUECH, WILLIAM HEYMAN, RUSSELL HUDSON, JAMES HULL, KATHY KNOWLTON, SHELLY KRUEGER, NIKHIL MEHTA, SARA MIRABILIO, AND MATTHEW PERKINSON TO THE CITIZEN SCIENCE POOL APPROVED BY COUNCIL

**MOTION:** REAPPOINT WALTER BUBLEY, ROB CHESHIRE, SCOTT BAKER, AND MICHELLE DUVAL TO THE CITIZEN SCIENCE OPERATIONS COMMITTEE FOR 3 YEAR TERMS. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

**MOTION:** APPOINT NIKHIL MEHTA, JIMMY HULL, KATHY KNOWLTON, AND WILL HEYMAN TO THE CITIZEN SCIENCE OPERATIONS COMMITTEE FOR 5 YEAR TERMS. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

**MOTION:** APPOINT RICHARD GOMEZ, ANDY PILAND, STEPHEN DONALSON, THOMAS NEWMAN, JON REYNOLDS, JUSTIN SMITH, MIMI STAFFORD, CASEY KNIGHT, BRYAN FLUECH, AND MATT PERKINSON TO THE CITIZEN SCIENCE PROJECTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

GENERAL ADVISORY PANEL

DOLPHIN WAHOO AP

**MOTION:** REAPPOINT JON REYNOLDS, CHIP BERRY, RICHARD DELIZZA, ROBERT FREVERT, RICHARD HARRIS, GLENN HOPKINS, TIM SCALISE, AND ROM WHITTAKER TO THE DOLPHIN WAHOO AP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL **MOTION:** APPOINT DAVID MOSS TO THE DOLPHIN WAHOO AP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## OUTREACH AND COMMUNICATIONS AP

**MOTION:** REAPPOINT STEVE DOUGHERTY, BEBE DALTON HARRISON, GEORGE PATANE, MARK PHELPS, AND ROBERT TODD TO THE OUTREAH AND COMMUNICATIONS AP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

**MOTION:** APPOINT CAMILLA WARREN (AT LARGE SEAT) AND JEANNA MERRIFIELD (COMMERCIAL SEAT) TO THE OUTHREACH AND COMMUNICATIONS AP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## SNAPPER GROUPER AP

**MOTION:** APPOINT GETTYS BRANNON (NGO SEAT) AND REAPPOINT RICHARD GOMEZ TO THE SNAPPER GROUPER AP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## HABITAT AND ECOSYSTEM AP RESTRUCTURE

**MOTION:** APPROVE THE FOLLOWING APPOINTMENTS/REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE HABITAT AND ECOSYTEM AP:

<u>NC SUBPANEL</u> REAPPOINT BRENDAN RUNDE AND CASEY KNIGHT

SC SUBPANEL

REAPPOINT PAULA KEENER AND DAVID WHITAKER

GA SUBPANEL

REAPPOINT THOMAS JONES AND APPOINT STEPHEN MORRISON

<u>FL SUBPANEL</u> REAPPOINT DAVID WEBB AND SAM YOUNG

<u>NON-SUBPANEL MEMBERS</u> REAPPOINT WILSON LANEY AND KEVIN SPANIK AND APPOINT RUA MORDECAI

APPROVED BY COUNCIL

# SCIENTIFIC AND STATISTICAL COMMITTEE (SSC) AND SOCIO-ECONOMIC PANEL (SEP)

**MOTION:** APPOINT JAMES GARTLAND TO THE SSC. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

**MOTION:** APPOINT CHRISTINA PACKAGE-WARD TO THE SEP. ADD ONE ADDITIONAL SEAT TO THE SEP AND APPOINT EUGENE FRIMPONG. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## **DIRECTION TO STAFF**

- Add language to the AP application noting that "Council members may contact others in the fishing community regarding your application."
- Send notification letters to appointees and email notifications to those not selected by December 21, 2023.
- Conduct an orientation of new AP members before the March 2024 SAFMC meeting.
- Advertise for open seats on advisory panels, SSC, and SEP as needed following the March 2024 Council meeting.