SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

Ben Hartig, Chair Dr. Michelle Duval, Vice Chair Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

AGENDA

Joint Habitat and Environmental Protection & Ecosystem-Based Management Committees

Hilton Wilmington Riverside 301 North Water Street Wilmington, NC

Tuesday, December 3rd, 2013 – 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Doug Haymans/Wilson Laney
- 2. Approval of September 16th, 2013 Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Minutes Doug Haymans
- 3. Status of Coral Amendment 8 (Coral Habitat Areas of Particular Concern (HAPC) & Transit through the Oculina Bank HAPC) Council staff
- 4. Coral Reef Cooperative Agreement with Coral Reef Conservation Program (Attachment 1)
 - A. Overview Anna Martin
 - B. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Doug Haymans/Wilson Laney
- 5. Report from November 5-6th, 2013 Habitat and Environmental Protection Advisory Panel Meeting (**Attachment 2**)
 - A. Meeting Overview and Summary Recommendations Roger Pugliese
 - B. Review Updated Habitat Policy Statements developed in cooperation with the Habitat Advisory Panel Roger Pugliese
 - B. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Wilson Laney

- 6. Update on Ecosystem Activities
 - A. Fishery Ecosystem Plan II Development Process Roger Pugliese
 - B. Climate and Governance Workshop Roger Pugliese
 - C. Committee Discussion and Guidance to Staff Doug Haymans/Wilson Laney
- 7. Other Business Doug Haymans/Wilson Laney
- 8. Adjourn Doug Haymans/Wilson Laney

Attachments:

- Attachment 1. Coral Reef Conservation Program Cooperative Agreement FY 14-16 Project Narrative
- Attachment 2. Habitat and Environmental Protection Advisory Panel Meeting Summary (2nd Briefing Book)

Ecosystem-Based Management Committee Members:

Doug Haymans, Chair Anna Beckwith Chris Conklin Dr. Michelle Duval Dr. Wilson Laney Jessica McCawley Charlie Phillips Robert Beal

Habitat and Environmental Protection Committee Members:

Dr. Wilson Laney, Chair Anna Beckwith Chris Conklin LT Morgan Fowler Doug Haymans John Jolley Charlie Phillips Robert Beal

Date: <u>11/14/2013</u>

Fishery: Coral Amendment 8,

Coral, Habitat

Subject: Briefing materials
Staff: Martin/Pugliese

Source: SAFMC