### SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201 NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366

FAX 843/769-4520

Toll Free 1-866-SAFMC-10 email: safmc@safmc.net web page: www.safmc.net

Duane Harris, Chairman David M. Cupka, Vice Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

# AGENDA

## Joint Meeting of the Shrimp Committee and Advisory Panel and Deepwater Shrimp Advisory Panel

Jekyll Island Club Hotel 371 Riverview Drive Jekyll Island, Georgia

#### Tuesday, March 2, 2010 - 10:30 A.M. to 3:30 P.M.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Spud Woodward & Jake Flowers
- 2. Approval of March 2009 Shrimp Committee Minutes Spud Woodward
- 3. Approval of October 2004 Jt. Shrimp Committee & AP Minutes Spud Woodward
- 4. Approval of May 2007 Deepwater Shrimp AP Minutes Jake Flowers
- 5. Election of Shrimp AP Chair and Vice-Chair Spud Woodward
- 6. Economic Data Program (Attachment 1) Dr. Christopher Liese
  - A. Discussion Spud Woodward
  - B. Committee/AP Action as required Spud Woodward & Jake Flowers
- 7. Recommendations of Shrimp Review Panel (Attachment 2) Myra Brouwer
  - A. Status of pink shrimp stocks
  - B. Concurrent closure of EEZ waters off SC and GA
  - C. Committee Action Spud Woodward
- 8. Reinitiation of ESA Section 7 Consultation on Shrimp Fishery (*Attachment 3*) Jennifer Lee
- 9. Other Business Spud Woodward & Jake Flowers

- 10. Timing & Task Motion Spud Woodward
- 11. Adjourn Spud Woodward & Jake Flowers

#### **Attachments**

- Attachment 1. Southeast Shrimp Fishery Economic Data Collection Program Summary
- Attachment 2. Shrimp Review Panel Report (2<sup>nd</sup> BB)
- Attachment 3. 2005 Biological Opinion on Shrimp Fishery

DATE:	<u>2/2/2010</u>
FISHERY:	<u>Shrimp</u>
SUBJECT:	Briefing Materials
STAFF	Brouwer
SOURCE:	<u>SAFMC</u>

#### Shrimp Committee Members: Spud Woodward, Chair

Spud Woodward, Chair Brian Cheuvront, Vice-Chair Roy Crabtree David Cupka Wilson Laney Charlie Phillips

#### **Shrimp Advisory Panel Members:**

Scott Baker Fred Dennis Frederic E. Dockery Nancy Edens Robert P. Jones Micah LaRoche Henry A. Skipper Marilyn Solorzano Janie G. Thomas Richard A. Vendetti Megan Westmeyer

#### **Deepwater Shrimp Advisory Panel Members:**

Jake Flowers, Chair Steven Wilson, Vice-Chair Fred Dennis Warren Gautier Tony Herring Michael Merrifield Archie W. (Woody) Moore Marilyn Solorzano Laurilee Thompson John A. Williams