Law Enforcement Committee Report

Hutchinson Island Marriott Stuart, FL

The Law Enforcement Committee met in Stuart, Florida, on June 13, 2013.

Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award

Mel Bell, LE Committee Chair, briefed the Committee on the process to select a Law Enforcement Officer of the Year to receive an award. He stated that 5 nominees were submitted, one from the U.S. Coast Guard, and one each from the four state agencies. The Law Enforcement Advisory Panel voted on the nominees via email. The top three nomination packages were then submitted to the LE Committee and the rest of the voting Council members. The LE Committee, under closed session, discussed the nominations and individual Council members made additional comments on the nominees. Council members were then provided a ballot to cast their vote for one deserving officer to receive the 2012 Law Enforcement of the Year Award.

SCDNR Officer Henry "Huger" McClellan was the nominee selected to receive the 2012 LEOY award. The award will be presented to Officer McClellan at the September 2013 meeting in Charleston, SC.

Under Other Business, Mel Bell expressed his concern that the Commercial Fishing Safety Advisory Committee of the U.S. Coast Guard lacks adequate representation from the South Atlantic region. The LE Committee directed staff to prepare a letter to request that the CFSAC include a member to represent the South Atlantic region.

The LE Committee made no motions.