SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 FABER PLACE DRIVE, SUITE 201

NORTH CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA 29405

TEL 843/571-4366 FAX 843/769-4520 Toll Free: (866) SAFMC-10

E-mail: safmc@safmc.net

Web site: www.safmc.net

David M. Cupka, Chairman Ben C. Hartig, Vice-Chairman Robert K. Mahood, Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh, Deputy Executive Director

AGENDA

Joint SAFMC/GMFMC Mackerel Committee Meeting

Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center 5445 Frederica Road St. Simons Island, GA

Monday, March 4, 2013 – 1:30 P.M. to 6:00 P.M.

- 1. Approval of Agenda Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer
- 2. Approval of September 12, 2012 South Atlantic Mackerel Committee minutes Ben Hartig
- 3. Status of Commercial and Recreational Catches versus ACLs for Atlantic and Gulf Group King Mackerel, Spanish Mackerel and Cobia NMFS
 - A. Commercial (Attachment 1) NMFS SERO
 - B. Recreational (Attachment 2) NMFS SEFSC
 - C. Committee Discussion and Action as Necessary Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer

4. Joint Gulf/South Atlantic Mackerel Amendment 19 (Attachment 3a)

A. Overview (**Attachment 3b**) – Kari MacLauchlin B. *Committee action*: Select preferred alternatives; modify the amendment as appropriate and provide guidance to staff – Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer

- 5. Joint Gulf/South Atlantic Mackerel Amendment 20 (Attachment 4a)
 - A. Overview (Attachment 4b) Kari MacLauchlin

B. *Committee action*: Select preferred alternatives; modify the amendment as appropriate and provide guidance to staff – Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer

- 6. South Atlantic Mackerel Framework Actions (Attachment 5a)
 - A. Overview (Attachment 5b) Kari MacLauchlin
 - B. Committee action: Review and provide guidance to staff Ben Hartig
- 7. Other Business Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer

- 8. Timing and Task Motion Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer
- 9. Adjourn Ben Hartig/Myron Fischer

South Atlantic Mackerel Committee

Ben Hartig, Chair Michelle Duval, Vice-Chair Steve Amick Robert Beal Anna Beckwith Mel Bell David Cupka Doug Haymans Jessica McCawley/Martha Bademan Charlie Phillips Tom Swatzel

Gulf Mackerel Committee

Myron Fischer, Chair Martha Bademan, Vice-Chair Larry Abele Pamella Dana Corky Perret Robin Riechers Patrick Riley John Sanchez Larry Simpson/David Donaldson

Attachments

- Attachment 1: NMFS SERO Commercial ACL/Quota Report
- Attachment 2: NMFS SEFSC Recreational ACL Report
- Attachment 3a: Joint CMP Amendment 19 (2nd BB)
- Attachment 3b: CMP Amendment 19 Decision Document (2nd BB)
- Attachment 4a: Joint CMP Amendment 20
- Attachment 4b: CMP Amendment 20 Decision Document
- Attachment 5a: South Atlantic CMP Framework Actions
- Attachment 5b: South Atlantic CMP Framework Actions Decision Document