# JOINT GULF & SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCILS

## MACKEREL COMMITTEE MEETING

Renaissance Orlando Hotel Airport 5445 Forbes Place Orlando, Florida 32812 (800) 545-1985 or (407) 240-1000

**JUNE 8, 2010** 



Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council 2203 North Lois Avenue Suite 1100 Tampa, FL 33607 813-348-1630 Phone 813-348-1711 Fax www.gulfcouncil.org



South Atlantic Fishery Management Council 4055 Faber Place Drive Suite 201 North Charleston, SC 29405 843-571-4366 Phone 843-769-4520 Fax

www.safmc.net

### **AGENDA**

### Joint Gulf & South Atlantic Mackerel Committee Meeting

Renaissance Orlando Airport Hotel 5445 Forbes Place Orlando, Florida 32812 (800) 545-1985 or (407) 240-1000

#### <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>June 8</u>, <u>2010</u> — <u>8:30 A.M. to 3:00 P.M.</u>

1. Introductions – George Geiger/Myron Fischer

[Each person should give their name and a <u>brief</u> statement about their background in the mackerel fishery or on the Council.]

2. Approval of Agenda – George Geiger/Myron Fischer

[Each Council's Committee will vote separately. George Geiger will conduct the voting for the South Atlantic Council's Committee, and Myron Fischer will conduct the voting for the Gulf Council's Committee.]

- 3. SSC Recommendations for King Mackerel, Spanish Mackerel & Cobia
  - A. South Atlantic King & Spanish Mackerel and Cobia (Attachment 1)
    - (1) Overview Presentation (15 minutes) Dr. Carolyn Belcher, SSC Chair
    - (2) Questions & Answers (15 minutes) George Geiger
  - B. Gulf King & Spanish Mackerel and Cobia (Attachment 2)
    - (1) Overview (15 minutes) Rick Leard, GMFMC Staff
    - (2) Questions & Answers (15 minutes) Myron Fischer
- 4. Mackerel Amendment 18 (**Attachment 3**)
  - A. Joint Actions 1 (FMU) & 2 (Framework)
    - (1) Overview Presentation Action 1 Rick Leard, GMFMC Staff Overview Presentation Action 2 – Sue Gerhart, NMFS Staff
    - (2) Discussion George Geiger/Myron Fischer
    - (3) GMFMC Committee Recommendations Myron Fischer
    - (4) SAFMC Committee Recommendations George Geiger

#### [Break @ 10 am – 15 minutes]

- B. Joint Action 3 (Cobia Management Groups)
  - (1) Overview Presentation Gregg Waugh, SAFMC Staff
  - (2) Discussion George Geiger/Myron Fischer
  - (3) GMFMC Committee Recommendations Myron Fischer
  - (4) SAFMC Committee Recommendations George Geiger
- C. Gulf Council Actions (ACL/ACT/AM for Gulf Migratory Group King/Spanish/Cobia)
  - (1) Overview Presentation Rick Leard, GMFMC Staff
  - (2) Discussion Myron Fischer
  - (3) GMFMC Committee Recommendations Myron Fischer

#### [Break for lunch @ noon]

- D. South Atlantic Council Actions (MSY, OY, OFL, MSST, ABC, ACL, ACT, Management Measures & AMs for Atlantic Migratory Group King/Spanish/Cobia) (**Attachment 4**)
  - (1) Overview Presentation Gregg Waugh, SAFMC Staff
  - (2) Questions & Answers George Geiger
  - (3) SAFMC Committee Recommendations George Geiger
- 5. Other Business George Geiger/Myron Fischer
  - A. King Mackerel Catch Share Program
    - (1) Overview of Timing Rick Leard, GMFMC Staff
    - (2) Discussion & Guidance to Staff George Geiger/Myron Fischer
  - B. Public Hearing Dates/Locations (**Overview**)
    - (1) Overview of Timing Gregg Waugh, SAFMC Staff
    - (2) Discussion & Guidance to Staff George Geiger/Myron Fischer
- 6. Timing & Task Motion George Geiger/Myron Fischer
- 7. Adjourn George Geiger/Myron Fischer

DATE: 5/31/2010
FISHERY: Mackerel
SUBJECT: Briefing Materials
STAFF Leard/Waugh/Gerhart
SOURCE: SAFMC, GMFMC & NMFS

#### **Attachments:**

Attachment 1. South Atlantic Council's SSC Report

Attachment 2A. Summary of the Standing & Special GMFMC SSC Mackerel

Attachment 2B. Draft Minutes GMFMC SSC Mackerel

Attachment 3. Joint CMP Amendment 18

Attachment 4. SAFMC Actions for Amendment 18

Attachment 5. Gulf King Mackerel AMs – Florida Keys Commercial Fishermen's Association

#### **GMFMC Mackerel Committee Members:**

Myron Fischer, Chair Mike Ray, V. Chair

Roy Crabtree/Phil Steele/Steve Branstetter

Tom McIlwain Damon McKnight

Vernon Minton/Kevin Anson

Ed Sapp

#### **SAFMC Mackerel Committee Members:**

George Geiger, Chair
Mac Currin
Duane Harris
Rita Merritt
Mark Robson
Red Munden, MAFMC Representative
Jack Travelstead, MAFMC Representative