SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 Faber Place Drive, Suite 201, North Charleston SC 29405 Call: (843) 571-4366 | Toll-Free: (866) SAFMC-10 | Fax: (843) 769-4520 | Connect: www.safmc.net

Dr. Michelle Duval, Chair | Charlie Phillips, Vice Chair Gregg T. Waugh, Executive Director

June 27, 2017

Dr. David Van Voorhees Fisheries Statistics Division Chief NOAA Fisheries Office of Science and Technology 1315 East West Highway Silver Spring, MD 20910

RE: SAFMC Request to Recalculate 2015 & 2016 Cobia Harvest

Dear Dr. Van Voorhees:

The South Atlantic Fishery Management Council (Council) approved the following motion at their June 2017 meeting: REQUEST MRIP RE-CALCULATE THE 2015 AND 2016 ATLANTIC COBIA RECREATIONAL HARVEST USING ANNUAL ESTIMATE OF CATCH AND EFFORT.

In October 2015, MRIP staff provided a presentation to the SAFMC Scientific and Statistical Committee (SSC) that outlined several alternative approaches for estimating catch and effort for rare recreational species for use in comparing to ACLs to determine when closures should take place. The SSC considered the alternatives reasonable and appropriate, and the approaches would be able to provide estimates with increased precision.

The Council requests that NMFS provide the recreational landings for Atlantic cobia in 2015 and 2016 using the annual estimate of catch and effort. If there are other methods that should also be considered, please include those along with your suggestions for which approach would be best to use for ACL tracking. The boundary for Atlantic cobia begins at the Florida/Georgia line and includes all landings through the Mid-Atlantic Council's region.

We would appreciate receiving this information on or before August 21, 2017, for inclusion in the briefing book for our September 2017 meeting. Thank you for your assistance with this request. If you have any questions, please contact John Carmichael or Gregg Waugh.

Best Regards,

Michelle a. Dural

Dr. Michelle Duval, Chair

cc: Council Members and Staff John McGovern and Rick DeVictor Monica Smit-Brunello Bonnie Ponwith, Theo Brainerd, and Trika Gerard Cisco Werner, Sam Rauch, and Alan Risenhoover