SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 Faber Place Drive, Suite 201, North Charleston SC 29405 Call: (843) 571-4366 | Toll-Free: (866) SAFMC-10 | Fax: (843) 769-4520 | Connect: www.safmc.net

Dr. Michelle Duval, Chair | Charlie Phillips, Vice Chair Gregg T. Waugh, Executive Director

March 4, 2016

MEMORANDUM

TO: Council Members Law Enforcement Advisory Panel Other Meeting Participants

FROM: Gregg Waugh *G*7W

SUBJECT: March 7-11, 2016 South Atlantic Council Meeting

Here is the remaining material to be emailed for the March Council meeting in Jekyll Island, Georgia:

- 1. Two spreadsheets with (1) the ACLs/AMs for all species and (2) allocations for some species.
- 2. Protected Resources Attachment 1.
- 3. Joint DW/SG a staff presentation on how the ABCs were calculated and two letters on the dolphin/wahoo control data (same letter, one to NMFS and one to Council).
- 4. Snapper Grouper a black sea bass comment, two Amendment 36 comment letters, a Amendment 41 comment letter, and a discussion paper with potential red snapper management approaches. In addition, Amendment 36 is included with the coordinates for Areas 51/53 added and some minor edits addressing these two areas; none of the other information in the amendment changed.
- 5. Mackerel two cobia comments, Attachment 5b with the GMFMC public hearing comments, Attachment 6c (codified text), and a staff discussion paper on cobia (Attachment 7e).
- 6. Data Collection Attachment 3.
- 7. Full Council Spiny Lobster Review Panel agenda.

If you have any questions about the arrangements for the meeting, please contact Cindy, Mike, or me.

cc: Executive Directors: MAFMC, NEFMC, GMFMC, and CFMC Tony DiLernia and Dewey Hemilright (MAFMC) Kevin Anson and Leanne Bosarge (GMFMC) Eileen Sobeck, Sam Rauch, Alan Risenhoover, and Emily Menashes (NMFS Headquarters) Jack McGovern, Rick DeVictor, and Andy Strelcheck (NMFS SERO) Jennifer Lee, David Dale, and Andy Herndon (NMFS SERO) Monica Smit-Brunello (NOAA GC SERO) Bonnie Ponwith, Theo Brainerd, Tom Jamir, Larry Massey, and Steve Turner (SEFSC) Luiz Barbieri (Chair SSC - FFWC) March 2016 Meeting – Memo with 2nd BB Bob Mahood Duane Harris Susan Shipman Deke Tompkins (ASMFC) Gwen Erwin (FFWC) Carrie Simmons and Kathy Pereira (GMFMC) Linda Atwell (NMFS SERO) Council Staff