SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL



4055 Faber Place Drive, Suite 201, North Charleston SC 29405 Call: (843) 571-4366 | Toll-Free: (866) SAFMC-10 | Fax: (843) 769-4520 | Connect: www.safmc.net

Dr. Michelle Duval, Chair | Charlie Phillips, Vice Chair Gregg T. Waugh, Executive Director

August 26, 2016

MEMORANDUM

TO: Council Members Other Meeting Participants

FROM: Gregg Waugh *G*7W

SUBJECT: Briefing Materials for September 12-16, 2016 South Atlantic Council Meeting

The September 2016 Council meeting Briefing Book is now available. As promised we have produced one Briefing Book with all the materials for the meeting with the exception of a few documents shown below. This will give you sufficient time to review the materials and prepare for the meeting without receiving additional materials. Your staff, our partners at the SERO/SEFSC, and invited participants have done an excellent job getting materials in on time and deserve a big THANK YOU! Any items not included in the Briefing Book or listed below will be deferred to the December meeting.

Items authorized by the Council chair to be received late:

- 1. <u>Snapper Grouper</u>
- A. Attachment 2c Codified text for Amendment 37 (Hogfish); approve for formal review
- 2. <u>Mackerel Cobia</u>
- A. Attachment 6 SC DNR Presentation of Cobia Population Segments; late request made after Cobia Public hearings
- B. Attachment 8c Codified text for Framework 4 (Atlantic Cobia); approve for formal review
- C. Attachment 9c Codified text for Framework 5 (Modify Permit Restrictions); approve for formal review
- 3. <u>Protected Resources</u>
- A. Attachment 2 Snapper Grouper BiOp; on separate timeline and the opportunity to comment may be over by our December 2016 meeting
- 4. <u>Data Collection</u>
- A. Attachment 1 Final SBRM Rule; waiting for publication in the Federal Register

Remember, how you receive the Briefing Book has changed. The final agenda and briefing materials will be posted to our website by noon today (August 26th); travel orders will be mailed to you. **Closed session briefing materials (SSC & AP Selection Committees) will be emailed to Council members and NMFS/NOAA staff from Mike Collins via ShareFile.** Click the link below and follow the steps to access your Briefing Book materials:

Briefing Book Link:

http://blog.safmc.net/meeting-documents/safmc-sept-2016-council-meeting-briefing-book/ You can access all of the briefing book materials from this web page. The page is organized just like a file explorer on your computer. Each Committee has a separate folder and you can open each folder and subfolder to access the documents for each committee. If documents/ presentations are added during the meeting, they will automatically be updated on this page. We encourage you to download any committee materials you need to your computer. You have three options for downloading the materials:

- Download the complete briefing book and save it as a zip file on your computer To download all of the files, click the link at the top right of the page (Download Complete Briefing Book – All Files). Once the zip file download is complete, save the zip file on your computer.
- 2) Download individual committee folders and save the folder as a zip file on your computer To download individual committee folders, click the link next to the committee folder (Download Folder). Once the zip file download is complete, save the zip file on your computer.
- 3) Download individual files and save the file on your computer To download an individual file, open the committee folder and click on the file you would like to open. The file will open in a new tab in your browser. Once open in the browser, save the file to your computer.

If you have any trouble, please email or call Amber – 843-812-2049 (cell).

The meeting is being held at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572. Reservations: 1-877-403-7676, Phone: 843-913-1333 and Fax: 843-913-1334. The room rate is \$100.57 [Tax Exempt = \$89 + 13% Resort Fee (\$11.57)] or \$112.64 [Non Tax Exempt) = (\$89 + 13% Resort Fee] for single or double occupancy. Council travelers are responsible for anything over the \$100.57 tax-exempt room rate. The room rate is good 2 days pre and post meeting dates <u>based on availability</u>. **The cutoff date for receiving the Council room rate was July 28, 2016.** You should have booked your room before the cutoff date to obtain the group rate. Reimbursement for reservations made after the block period ends will be limited to the contracted price specified. After July 28th, any remaining guestrooms were released and the group rate is no longer available.

Parking Charges: Valet parking covered by resort fee.

Airport Shuttle: Airport is approximately 10 miles away; no shuttle service covered by hotel. **Wireless in Sleeping Rooms:** Wireless Internet access through hotel is covered by resort fee.

If you are on Council reimbursed travel (Council members, non-federal employee Advisory Panel members, and invited participants), your name will be on a master list and your hotel room will be charged directly to the Council (incidentals will be your responsibility). Council reimbursed travelers should make their own reservations (using their own credit card to hold the room); however, your room for authorized room nights will ultimately be charged to the Council's master account. (The hotel will do this internally.)

If you plan to arrive before or stay after the approved travel authorization dates of September 12-16 (on your own time), contact Cindy Chaya at the Council office. Council members and staff are authorized to travel on September 11th for the workshop on Monday morning. If you experience any problem at check-in or checkout, contact Mike Collins, who will be at the meeting.

As a reminder, Council travelers flying to the meeting and those authorized to have a rental car should call AAA at 1-800-765-6223 and ask for Connie Eichel to schedule your travel. Be sure to tell her you are traveling for the Council on official business.

If you have any questions about the arrangements for the meeting, please contact Cindy, Mike, or me.

cc: MAFMC, NEFMC, GMFMC, and CFMC Rob O'Reilly, Tony DiLernia, and Dewey Hemilright (MAFMC) Leann Bosarge (GMFMC) Eileen Sobeck, Sam Rauch, Alan Risenhoover, and Emily Menashes (NMFS Headquarters) Jack McGovern, Rick DeVictor, and Andy Strelcheck (NMFS SERO) David Bernhart, Robert Hoffman, Jennifer Lee, David Dale, and Andy Herndon (NMFS SERO) Monica Smit-Brunello (NOAA GC SERO) Bonnie Ponwith, Theo Brainerd, Adyan Rios, Stacy Hargrove, Larry Massey, and Steve Turner (SEFSC) Marcel Reichert(Chair SSC – SC DNR) Duane Harris Susan Shipman Bob Mahood Deke Tompkins (ASMFC) Gwen Erwin (FFWC) Carrie Simmons and Beth Hager (GMFMC) Linda Atwell (NMFS SERO) Council Staff