#### SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

# **SOPP's COMMITTEE**

# Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston, SC

**September 16, 2010** 

# **SUMMARY MINUTES**

**SOPP's Committee:** 

Duane Harris, Chair David Cupka, Vice-Chair

Dr. Brian Cheuvront George Geiger

Doug Haymans

**Council Members:** 

Robert Boyles Tom Burgess
Tom Swatzel Mark Robson
Dr. Roy Crabtree Mac Currin

Ben Hartig Dr. Wilson Laney

Charlie Phillips

**Council Staff:** 

Bob MahoodGregg WaughKim IversonRoger PuglieseKate QuigleyRick DeVictorJohn CarmichaelAnna MartinKari FenskeMyra BrouwerMike CollinsJulie O'Dell

**Observers/Participants:** 

Monica Smit-Brunello Dr. Jack McGovern

Nik Mehta

Additional Observers and Participants Attached

SOPP's Committee Charleston, SC September 16, 2010

The SOPPs Committee of the South Atlantic Fishery Management Council convened in the Topaz Room of the Charleston Marriott Hotel, Charleston, South Carolina, September 16, 2010, and was called to order at 11:40 o'clock a.m. by Chairman Duane Harris.

MR. HARRIS: We're going to convene the SOPPs Committee at this time, and I'm going to call on our executive director to give us the report.

MR. MAHOOD: Well, we still don't have a final rule on the SOPPs so we don't have anything to do in the SOPPs Committee. Bill Chapell told me it should be out in a couple of weeks. It is fairly low priority with the things they have to do up there. We've had some very interesting emails going back and forth with Bill about SOPPs and are they really just stringing us along or are they really working on them up there.

We will get to it when we get them, and I guess we'll just keep plugging along without any new SOPPs here for a while. Every once in a while at a council meeting we do come up with some operational procedures that people question, so I'm compiling things as we go along at the office that we may want to change in our SOPPs when we get the guidelines on what we are supposed to change. As you think about it, let me know things and we will include those as we move forward.

MR. HARRIS: Thank you, Robert. Any questions regarding the SOPPs Committee or the SOPPs Committee Report? Seeing none, the SOPPs Committee is adjourned.

(Whereupon, the meeting was adjourned at 11:42 o'clock a.m., September 16, 2010.)

Certified By:	Date:	
certified by.	Date.	

Transcribed By: Graham Transcriptions, Inc. October 15, 2010

# South Atlantic Fishery Management Council **2009 - 2010 Council Membership**

#### **COUNCIL CHAIRMAN:**

#### **Charles Duane Harris**

105 Demere Retreat Lane St. Simons Island, GA 31522 912/638-9430 (ph) seageorg@bellsouth.net

#### **COUNCIL VICE-CHAIRMAN**

#### David M. Cupka

P.O. Box 12753 Charleston, SC 29422 843/795-8591 (hm) 843/870-5495 (cell) palmettobooks@bellsouth.net

#### Robert H. Boyles, Jr.

S.C. Dept. of Natural Resources Marine Resources Division P.O. Box 12559 (217 Ft. Johnson Road) Charleston, SC 29422-2559 843/953-9304 (ph) 843/953-9159 (fax) boylesr@dnr.sc.gov

# Tom Burgess

P.O. Box 33 Sneads Ferry, NC 28460 910/327-3528 ttburgess@embargmail.com

#### Dr. Brian Cheuvront

N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries P.O. Box 769 (3441 Arendell St.) Morehead City, NC 28557 252/726-7021 Ext. 8015 (ph) 252/726-6187 brian.cheuvront@ncdenr.gov

# Dr. Roy Crabtree

Regional Administrator NOAA Fisheries, Southeast Region 263 13th Avenue South St. Petersburg, FL 33701 727/824-5301 (ph); 727/824-5320 (f) roy.crabtree@noaa.gov

## Benjamin M. "Mac" Currin

801 Westwood Drive Raleigh, NC 27607 919/881-0049 (ph) mcurrin1@bellsouth.net

#### George J. Geiger

566 Ponoka Street Sebastian, FL 32958 772/388-3183 (ph) georgejgeiger@bellsouth.net

#### Ben Hartig

9277 Sharon Street Hobe Sound, FL 33455 772/546-1541 (ph) bhartig@bellsouth.net

#### **Doug Haymans**

Coastal Resources Division GA Dept. of Natural Resources One Conservation Way, Suite 300 Brunswick, GA 31520-8687 912/264-7218 (ph); 912/262-2318 (f) Doug.Haymans@dnr.state.ga.us

#### Deirdre Warner-Kramer

Office of Marine Conservation OES/OMC 2201 C Street, N.W. Department of State, Room 5806 Washington, DC 20520 202/647-3228 (ph); 202/736-7350 (f) Warner-KramerDM@state.gov

#### Dr. Wilson Laney

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
South Atlantic Fisheries Coordinator
P.O. Box 33683
Raleigh, NC 27695-7617
(110 Brooks Ave
237 David Clark Laboratories,
NCSU Campus
Raleigh, NC 27695-7617)
919/515-5019 (ph)
919/515-4415 (f)
Wilson\_Laney@fws.gov

# Lt. Richard Mach

U.S. Coast Guard Brickell Plaza Federal Building 909 S.E. First Avenue Room 876/ DRE Miami, FL 33131-3050 305/415-6781 (ph) 305/415-6791 (f) Richard.A.Mach@uscg.mil

#### John V. O'Shea

Executive Director Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 1444 Eye Street, N.W., 6th Floor Washington, D.C. 20005 202/289-6400 (ph); 202/289-6051 (f) voshea@asmfc.org

#### **Charles Phillips**

Phillips Seafood / Sapelo Sea Farms 1418 Sapelo Avenue, N.E. Townsend, GA 31331 912/832-3149 (ph); 912/832-6228 (f) Ga\_capt@yahoo.com

#### Mark Robson

Director, Division of Marine Fisheries Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission 620 S. Meridian Street Tallahassee, FL 32399 850/487-0554 (ph); 850/487-4847(f) mark.robson@mvfwc.com

#### Tom Swatzel

P.O. Box 1311

Murrells Inlet, SC 29576

843/222-7456 (ph)

tom@swatzel.com

SACK MCGOVERN NIK MEHTA MONICA SMIT-BRUNEUS

#### SHRIMP

Brian Cheuvront, Vice-Chair Roy Crabtree David Cupka Doug Haymans Wilson Laney Charlie Phillips

Staff contact: Myra Brouwer

# **SNAPPER GROUPER**

Mac Currin, Chairman Mark Robson, Vice-Chair

Robert Boyles Tom Burgess

Roy Crabtree

Brian Cheuvront

David Cupka

George Geiger

Duane Harris

Ben Hartig

Doug Haymans Charlie Phillips

Tom Swatzel

Red Munden, Mid-Atlantic Council

Staff contact: Rick DeVictor

# SOPPs

Duane Harris, Chair David Cupka, Vice-Chair

Brian Cheuvront

√George Geiger

Doug Haymans
Staff contact: Bob Mahood

## **SPINY LOBSTER**

Mark Robson, Chair Roy Crabtree George Geiger Ben Hartig

Rita Merritt

Brian Sullivan

Staff contact: Gregg Waugh

# South Atlantic Fishery Management Council Staff



Deputy Executive Director Gregg T. Waugh gregg.waugh@safmc.net

#### **Public Information Officer**

Kim Iverson @safmc.net

# **Senior Fishery Biologist**

Roger Pugliese roger.pugliese@safmc.net

# Staff Economist Kathryn (Kate) Quigley kate.quigley@safmc.net

#### Cultural Anthropologist Open Position

Open Position

# Environmental Impact Scientist

Rick DeVictor richard.devictor@safmc.net

#### Science and Statistics Program Manager

John Carmichael john.carmichael@safmc.net

#### **Outreach Assistant**

Anna Martin anna.martin@safmc.net

#### **SEDAR Coordinators**

Julie Neer - julie.neer@safmc.net

Kari Fenske – kari.fenske@safmc.net

#### **Coral Reef Biologist**

Myra Brouwer
myra.brouwer@safmc.net

#### Administrative Officer

Mike Collins mike.collins@safmc.net

#### **Financial Secretary**

Debra Buscher deb.buscher@safmc.net

## Admin. Secretary /Travel Coordinator

Cindy Chaya cindy.chaya@safmc.net

## Purchasing/Adm. Assistant

Julie O'Dell julie.odell@safmc.net

# **SEDAR/ Staff Administrative Assistant**

Rachael Lindsay rachael.lindsay@safmc.net