### <u>FINAL</u> SUMMARY REPORT SSC SELECTION SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL June 8, 2020

The Council approved the minutes from the June 2019 meeting and the agenda with one addition to Other Business.

#### **SSC Reapplications**

Council staff presented the list of SSC members whose terms have expired and have reapplied for another term on the SSC. The Council approved the following motion:

**MOTION #1.** REAPPOINT ALL 6 SSC MEMBERS WHO HAVE REAPPLIED FOR THE SSC (Scott Crosson, Eric Johnson, Anne Lange, Amy Schueller, Tracy Yandle, and Fred Scharf). APPROVED BY COUNCIL

#### **New SSC Applications**

Council staff informed the Committee that there was one open seat, due to Dr. Rob Ahrens resigning from the SSC. Staff informed the Council that the SSC would benefit most from replacing the loss of the expertise due to Dr. Rob Ahrens leaving. The Council discussed adding a new seat to the SSC to accommodate both of the new applicants but decided to take up that issue at their next meeting in September 2020. The Council approved the following motion:

**MOTION #2.** APPOINT DR. JIE CAO TO THE SSC. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

#### **SEP Reapplications**

Council staff presented the list of SEP members whose terms have expired and have reapplied for another term on the SEP. The Council approved the following motion:

**MOTION #3.** REAPPOINT ALL 6 MEMBERS WHO HAVE REAPPLIED FOR THE SEP (Scott Crosson, Chris Dumas, Jason Murray, Kurt, Schnier, John Whitehead, and Tracy Yandle). APPROVED BY COUNCIL

#### **New SEP Applications**

Council staff informed the Committee that there was one existing vacant seat and two additional seats that will become vacant due to two SEP members not wishing to be reappointed. Staff informed the Council that although one of the vacated seats was held by a social scientist, there were no social scientists applying to be on the SEP at this time and the three seats were open to be filled by someone of any expertise. The Council discussed having a representative from each state on the SEP. The Council approved the following motions:

## **MOTION #4.** APPOINT ANDREW ROPICKI TO THE SEP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

# **MOTION #5.** APPOINT DAVID DIETZ AND ADAM STEMLE TO THE SEP. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## **Other Business**

Council staff informed the Council that Dr. Marcel Reichert had resigned from the SSC, vacating a SC designated seat. Mel Bell informed the Council that SC DNR had put forth Dr. Walter Bubley to fill that vacant seat. The Council approved the following motion:

**MOTION #6.** APPOINT DR. WALTER BUBLEY TO THE DESIGNATED SC SEAT ON THE SSC. APPROVED BY COUNCIL

## Timing and Task(s)

**MOTION #7.** ADOPT THE FOLLOWING TIMING AND TASK(S):

- 1) Draft and send letters to all the SSC and SEP members that were reappointed for another term.
- 2) Draft and send a letter to Dr. Jie Cao announcing his appoint to the SSC for a 3-year term.
- 3) Draft and send letters to David Dietz, Adam Stemle, and Andrew Ropicki announcing their appointments to the SEP for 5-year terms.
- 4) Draft and send letters to all the other applicants who applied for positions on the SSC and the SEP but were not appointed, thanking them for their applications.
- 5) Draft and send letters recognizing the contributions of Marcel Reichert and Rob Ahrens to the SSC.
- 6) Consider adding another seat to the SSC at the September Council meeting, evaluating the need of the SSC for any additional expertise.
- 7) Draft and send a letter to Dr. Walter Bubley announcing his appoint to the SSC for a 3-year term.

APPROVED BY COUNCIL