SUMMARY REPORT FROM THE SSC SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING Jekyll Island, GA March 6, 2008

The SSC Selection Committee met in a closed session March 6th, 2008 on Jekyll Island, GA. The committee received presentations from John Carmichael regarding the following items:

1. SSC Membership

The Committee reviewed attendance records and responses of current SSC members to the SSC MOU distributed in December 2007, and also reviewed new SSC applicants obtained from the recent solicitation for members. The Committee agreed to convene a new SSC composed of 12-18 members selected from previous members and new applicants.

The Committee invited the following individuals to serve on the new SSC: Luiz Barbieri, Carolyn Belcher, Jeff Buckle, Christine Burgess, Alex Chester, Andy Cooper, Scott Crosson, Doug Gregory, Pat Harris, Yan Jiao, Anne Lange, Sherry Larkin, Ken Pollock, Marcel Reichert, John Whitehead, and Erik Williams. A letter of invitation will be sent from the Chairman to each invitee. A one-day orientation meeting will be held for all members of the new SSC prior to the next scheduled SSC meeting in June 2008.

An inquiry regarding interest in serving on Council Technical Committees will be sent to those members of the previous SSC not invited to serve on the new SSC. Previous members will also receive a letter of thanks acknowledging their service. Similar letters will be sent to those who applied to the new SSC but were not selected at this time.

2. Technical Committees

The Committee supported the proposed technical committee process as a means of increasing the workforce available for addressing SEDAR responsibilities, SAFE report production, and general technical advice. Technical Committees will report to the SSC and members will be appointed by the SSC Selection Committee. Technical committee appointments will be considered at the next meeting; a reminder will be sent in late March.

The Committee considered convening a dedicated social and economic committee in addition to the FMP oriented technical committees, and decided that social and economic advisory needs would be best met by including social and economic scientists in the SSC membership.

3. SSC Procedures

The Committee reviewed SSC procedures relating to the MOU, public participation, Robert's Rules, interim conference calls, peer review of documents, and SSC chair attendance at Council meetings.

The Committee recommended that the MOU be changed to an 'SSC Job Description' to avoid legal connotations of 'MOU'. This Job Description will be sent to all members of the new SSC.

Existing procedures addressing public comment at SSC meetings are considered adequate for current needs.

The Committee recommends that the operations of the SSC should be generally guided by Robert's Rules, and that the rules can be invoked as necessary to conduct business efficiently and maintain order. The SSC will be encouraged to follow Robert's Rules in making and acting upon motions so that a clear record of recommendations is provided.

The Committee supported interim conference calls as a means of keeping SSC members aware of Council activities and developing issues.

The Committee reiterated its position that the SSC is neither expected nor obligated to conduct an extensive peer review of SEDAR stock assessments. Future NMFS guidelines addressing the reauthorized MSA will be consulted to improve the instructions provided to the SSC for reviewing FMPs.

The Committee stated that the SSC Chair is always welcome at Council meetings but is not obligated to attend. The Council Chair will issue a formal invitation to the SSC Chair to attend Council meetings at their discretion, and also expressing appreciation for filling an important job. The SSC Chair will be asked to present SSC findings and recommendations during at the appropriate committees during those meetings when the SSC meets in conjunction with the Council.

MOTIONS

Move to invite Sherry Larkin, John Whitehead, and Scott Crosson to join the new SAFMC SSC.

Made by Boyles, second by Shipman. Motion approved.

Move to invite Carolyn Belcher, Jeff Buckle, Doug Gregory, Erik Williams, Luiz Barbieri, Alex Chester, Pat Harris, Ken Pollock, Christine Burgess, Anne Lange, Marcel Reichert, Yan Jiao, and Andy Cooper to join the new SAFMC SSC

Made by Cheuvront, second by Boyles. Motion approved.