

SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

4055 Faber Place Drive, Suite 201, North Charleston SC 29405 Call: (843) 571-4366 | Toll-Free: (866) SAFMC-10 | Fax: (843) 769-4520 | Connect: www.safmc.net

Charlie Phillips, Chair | Captain Mark Brown, Vice Chair Gregg T. Waugh, Executive Director

December 20, 2017 LN# 201774

Mr. Chris Oliver Assistant Administrator for Fisheries National Marine Fisheries Service/NOAA 1315 East West Highway Silver Spring, MD 20910

RE: SAFMC Process to Evaluate Regulations for Removal

Dear Chris:

NMFS has requested the Councils identify a process to review/evaluate existing regulations by the end of December 2017. Then each Council is to conduct the review/evaluation and provide recommendations on rules to be removed by the end of June 2018. The South Atlantic Council approved the following approach and timing at their December 2017 meeting:

SAFMC Approach for Evaluating Regulations in Conformance with Regulatory Reform:

- Continue to request public comments at the March and June 2018 Council meetings
- Each technical staff review the regulations for their FMPs January/February 2018
- Coordinate with the SERO on potential regulations to remove February 2018
- Bring draft list to Executive Finance Committee in March 2018
- Public Input during public comment session at March 5-9, 2018 Council meeting
- Council reviews and provides input at March 2018 meeting
- Have Advisory Panels (Species and Law Enforcement APs) and SSC/SEP review between March and June 2018 Council meetings; mail to APs not meeting in person
- Coordinate with SERO and NOAA GC between March and June 2018 Council meetings
- Bring revised list to Executive Finance Committee in June 2018
- Council reviews and approves list of regulations to be removed at June 11-15, 2018 meeting
- Council sends list of regulations to be removed to NMFS by June 22, 2018

We look forward to identifying all outdated, unnecessary, and ineffective regulations for removal. If you have any questions, please contact Gregg Waugh.

Best Regard

Charlie Phillips, Chair

Chali h Phllips

cc: Council members and staff
Sam Rauch and Alan Risenhoover
Jack McGovern and Rick DeVictor
Monica Smit-Brunello
Cisco Werner, Theo Brainerd, LeAnn Hogan, and Erik Williams