South Atlantic Fishery Management Council

SEDAR Pool Advisory Panel

The SEDAR Pool is composed of individuals approved by the Council to participate in SEDAR projects. SEDAR Pool members help during the development of a SEDAR project (typically stock assessments) by providing their perspective and helping understand how the fishery is currently operating or operated in the past.   

In addition to stakeholders approved by the Council, all Council AP and Assessment Committee members, SSC members, State, Federal, and Interstate Commission Scientists and representatives from the Southeast Region, representatives of NGOs in the region, and University Researchers. are members. Members of the SEDAR Pool remain part of the SEDAR Pool until they are removed by the Council or no longer working for their agency, NGO, or university.   

Membership to the SEDAR Pool does not automatically mean that members are approved as official participants or observers of a SEDAR project.  The member must be appointed by the Council to serve in that role for a project.   

If appointed to a SEDAR project, the member is expected to attend meetings for the project.  This can range from a single webinar focused on a specific topic to a weeklong in-person data workshop.   Once the SEDAR project is completed, there are no other meetings to attend until the member requests to be a part of and appointed to another SEDAR project.   

SEDAR Advisory Panel Pool Members
John AdairFL
Craig AndrewsNC
John BarberFL
Dr. Peter Barile FL
Terry BeidemanNJ
James BrodbeckFL
Dr. Doug ButterworthSouth Africa
Wiley CoppersmithNC
Jack Cox, Jr.NC
Leslie “Sonny” Davis, Sr.NC
Dr. Robert DeVincentisFL
Chad EnglertFL
Kenny FexNC
Eric FinnFL
Brett FitzgeraldFL
Allan FluhartyFL
James GeigerSC
David GrubbsFL
Otto GruhnFL
Ben HartigFL
Dave HeilFL
Dewey HemilrightNC
Manny HerreraFL
Rusty HudsonFL
Jimmy HullFL
Robert JohnsonFL
Christian JohnsonMD
Nancy JonesFL
Stephen KlimekFL
Joey KlostermanFL
Lee LaveryFL
Chad LeeFL
Chris LongSC
Ron McPhersonFL
Dr. Barbara MuhlingFL
David NelsonFL
Paul Nelson, IIIFL
Dr. Erik NoonburgFL
Christopher O’BrienVA
Jeff OdenNC
Geoffrey OwensFL
Jack PerrettGA
Robert PrestonFL
Dr. Rebecca RademeyerFrance
Dr. Mitchell RofferFL
Michael RowlandFL
Dr. Paul RudershausenNC
James SanfordFL
Brice SemmensCA
William Shearin, Jr.GA
Steve ShelleySC
Byron ShultsNC
Richard StiglitzFL
Dave TimpyNC
David TuckerNC
Dr. Steven TurnerFL
Captain Yuri VakselisFL
Bob Zales IIFL
Daniel ZierFL

Staff Contact