South Atlantic Fishery Management Council

Fishery Management

The Council currently manages eight fisheries: coastal migratory pelagics (mackerel & cobia); coral and live bottom habitat; dolphin and wahoo; golden crab; Sargassum; shrimp; snapper grouper; and spiny lobster. Amendments developed under each fishery management plan are below. 

Note: Atlantic Highly Migratory Species (sharks, tunas, and billfish) are managed by NOAA Fisheries. Additional information, including details for obtaining permits and regulations, is available from the NOAA Fisheries website.