South Atlantic Fishery Management Council

July 2023 SSC Meeting

Time: to
Location: Via webinar only.

Meeting Agenda & Briefing Materials

The South Atlantic Fishery Management Council (Council) will hold meetings of its Science and Statistical Committee on July 27th from 9 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.

Except for advertised public hearings and public comment sessions, the timing of agenda items may change.

Public comment will be solicited at the beginning and at the end of the meeting. Those wishing to comment should indicate such in the manner requested by the Chair, who will then recognize individuals to provide comments.

Thursday, July 27th 2023

9:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M.

  1. Introduction
    1. SSC July 2023 Agenda (Attachment 1a)
    2. Minutes from the April 2023 meeting (Attachment 1b)
  2. Public Comment
  3. SEDAR 76: Black Sea Bass Operational Assessment
    1. SEFSC Presentation: Review of Rebuilding Projections (Attachment 3a; also in recent docs) 
    2. SEDAR 76: Black Sea Bass Assessment Update  (Attachment 3b; also in recent docs)
    3. SAFMC ABC Control Rules (Attachment 3c)
  4. Scamp/Yellowmouth Grouper Operational Assessment 
    1. Scamp/Yellowmouth Additional Forecast Scenarios (Attachment 4a)
    2. Scamp/Yellowmouth Nonstationarity in Recruitment (Attachment 4b; also in recent documents)
  5. Greater Amberjack Project Update
    1. Presentation of Greater Amberjack Estimation Project (Attachment 5a
    2. Greater Amberjack Project Narrative (Attachment 5b)  

Lunch 12:00 noon to 1:00 pm

1:00 P.M. – 4:00 P.M.

  1. NS1 Technical Guidance Document Review
    1. Presentation on NS1 Technical Guidance (Attachment 6a)
    2. NS1 Tech Memo (Attachment 6b)
  2. Spanish Mackerel Catch Level Recommendations
    1. Equilibrium Values from S78 Base Run (Attachment 7a)
  3. SEDAR: Scopes of Work for 2026 Assessments
    1. Scopes of Work for 2026 Assessments (Attachment 8a; also in recent documents)
  4. Other Business 
  5. Public Comment 
  6. Consensus Statement and Recommendations Review 
  7. Next Meetings 

Recent Materials

Staff Contact

SSC Members
Dr. Jeffrey Buckel, Chair
Dr. Frederick Scharf, Vice Chair
Dustin Addis
Dr. Walter Bubley
Dr. Jie Cao
Dr. Chris Dumas
Dr. Jared Flowers
Dr. Kai Lorenzen
Anne Markwith
Dr. Genny Nesslage
Dr. Marcel Reichert
Dr. Amy Schueller
Dr. George Sedberry
Dr. Fred Serchuk
Dr. Alexei Sharov
Dr. Jennifer Sweeney-Tookes
Dr. Steve Turner
Jason Walsh
Christina Package-Ward