South Atlantic Fishery Management Council

Oct. 2022 Mackerel Cobia AP Meeting

Time: to
Location: Town and Country Inn 2008 Savannah Highway Charleston, SC 29407

Meeting Agenda & Briefing Materials

Except for advertised public hearings and public comment sessions, the timing of agenda items may change.

Public comment will be solicited at the beginning and at the end of the meeting. Those wishing to comment should indicate such in the manner requested by the Chair, who will then recognize individuals to provide comments.

Wednesday, October 5, 2022

1:30 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  • Approval of Agenda
  • Approval of April 2021 Meeting minutes
  • Report from the Council’s Mackerel Cobia Committee Chair
  1. Update on recently submitted amendments
    1. Attachment 1: Active Amendments
  2. Citizen Science Update
    1. Attachment 2: Citizen Science Update
  3. Climate Change Scenario Planning Update
    1. Attachment 3: Climate Change Planning
  4. Amendment 35: Commercial e-Logbook
    1. Attachment 4a: Commercial e-Logbook Update
    2. Attachment 4b: Commercial e-Logbook Q&A
    3. Attachment 4c: Commercial e-Logbook Fields

Thursday, October 6, 2022

9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.

  1. Proposed North Atlantic Right Whale Vessel Speed Rule
    1. Attachment 5: NARW Proposed Speed Regulations
  2. SEDAR 78: Atlantic Spanish Mackerel Update 
    1. Attachment 6: Spanish Mackerel Timeline
  3. Coastal Migratory Pelagics Fishery Management Plan Objectives
    1. Attachment 7: CMP FMP Objectives
  4. Amendment 33: Gulf King Mackerel Allocations
    1. Attachment 8a: CMP Amendment 33 Presentation
    2. Attachment 8b: Draft CMP Amendment 33
  5. False Albacore Mini Fishery Performance Report
    1. Attachment 9: False Albacore Discussion
  6. Florida and Hudson Canyon National Marine Sanctuaries Proposal
    1. Attachment 10a: FLKNMSP Presentation
    2. Attachment 10b: Hudson Canyon Presentation
  • Other Business
  • Adjourn

Recent Materials

Staff Contact

Mackerel Cobia Advisory Panel Members

Ira Laks, Chair
Stephen Donalson
Steve English
Keith Bowen
Robert Olsen
Greg Peralta
Gary Robinson
Rusty Hudson
Aaron Kelly
John Mallette
Brad Phillips
Thomas Newman
Charlie Locke
Paul Ruderhausen
Tony Benevento
Chuck Griffin
William Palmer

Benjamin Shepherd, Mid-Atlantic Liaison

Chris Ludford, Mid-Atlantic Liaison